Cosmic_Gate_-_Back_2_Back_Vol__4_-_.jpg picture by euphoriaxnyc

Cosmic Gate returns with fourth edition of the Back 2 Back compilation series….

Funny as it might seem, it takes a lot for a group to ‘recover’ from the runaway success of a global top 10 single. Especially when it’s one of they’re first. Possessing both innovation and determination in equally large measures, Bossi and Nic Chagall were never going to sit back and let that happen. By any measure you care to choose, Cosmic Gate’s regeneration is complete. 2.0 achieved. The ghost of ‘Fire Wire’ laid to rest, once and for all.

Last year saw them produce and deliver their fourth consummately fine artist album. A ‘slam-dunk’ as they say on the other side of the pond, what Sign of the Times did in terms of contributing to the success of Cosmic Gate’s 2009 is hard to overstate. A highest-climber move into the top 20 on DJ Mag’s Top 100 chart, a clutch of hot-house singles and remixes and a small matter of a couple of 2010 International Dance Music Award nominations, all after effects of a hugely embraced album.

Now for their first major maneuver of 2010, the lads are bringing back their much-loved Back 2 Back compilation album for a – possibly slightly overdue – fourth outing. Compiled and mixed throughout the course of their recent South America tour, the two discs serve as new maps to their musical minds. From the deeper, more progressive half of their brains, disc 1 summons sound-scaping atmospherics including Greg Morrison’s Another Suggestion, Blake Jarrell’s Galapagos and the Moonbeam produced slow-burner Look Around. Reaching the halfway point, Nic and Bossi start to open the gate and allow more melodic entities to enter. Estiva & Temple One’s November Lovely and Cosmic Gate’s own remix of Kyau & Albert’s I Love You, numbered among them.

Back 2 Back 4’s second disc brings in more heavyweight studio operators. Rank 1 & Jochen Miller’s current collaboration The Great Escape, Ronski Speed’s Denva and – in its Nic Chagall remix form – Marco V & JonathanMendelsohn’s Coming Back all lie in wait. C.G. themselves are also well represented; inspired by their time in Rio de Janeiro, their next single Barra opens the disc while and fan-favorite London Rain has also been given a special Back 2 Back 4 re-shape for inclusion.

To speak in the words of Cosmic Gate: “Like the last issues, we decided to introduce Back 2 Back 4 as a double mix compilation so we can showcase the diversity that we find in trance music nowadays. In general, we hope that listening to Back 2 Back 4 gives the listener an idea about our current DJ sound, and shows what to expect when you come see us live in a club or at a festival”.


Disc 1

1. Mike Shiver & Aruna – Everywhere You Are (Duderstadt Remix)

2. Glenn Morrison – Another Suggestion

3. Moonbeam Ft. Daniel Mimra – Look Around

4. Boy Hagemann – Night Vision (Original Mix)

5. Patric La Funk – Calisto

6. Blake Jarrell – Galapagos

7. Jason Van Wyk – Once Again (Original Mix)

8. Estiva & Temple One – November Lovely (Estiva Mix)

9. Kyau & Albert – I Love You (Cosmic Gate Remix)

10. Lost Stories – Flight 447

11. First State – Cape Point

12. Michael Angelo & Solo Feat. Denise Rivera – Alone (Ashley Wallbridge Remix)

13. Alex Armes – Hypnotize (Original Mix)

14. Spartaque & Slava Flash – Open Air

Disc 2

1. Cosmic Gate – Barra (Extended Mix)

2. David Forbes – Katsu (Original Mix)

3. Mat Zo – 24 Hours (Oliver Smith Mix)

4. Lange Presents Firewall – Wanderlust

5. Alexander Popov – Metropolis (Original Mix)

6. Rank 1 Vs Jochen Miller – The Great Escape (Extended Mix)

7. Dj Eco Pres. Pacheco – Staring At The Sea (Original Mix)

8. Marco V Featuring Jonathan Mendelsohn – Coming Back (Nic Chagall Remix)

9. Cosmic Gate – London Rain (B2B4 ReDub)

10. Jer Martin – Ten Minutes To Midnight (Original Club Mix)

11. George Acosta Feat. Fisher – Tearing Me Apart (Dns Project Remix)

12. Ron Van Den Beuken Vs. Crossed Eyes – Terminal 44 (Mdj Remix)

13. Ronski Speed – Denva

14. Swen Weber – Xonque (Julian Vegas Remix)

Back 2 Back 4 – Mixed by Cosmic Gate isout now through Black Hole Recordings.

This post originally appeared on Electronic Nightlife, now a part of beatcue.

You May Like This

Free ebook download